The Day My Labia Exploded

Screen Shot 2013-09-14 at 3.38.03 PM

Turns out that Mamamia liked my article after-all. It’s about exploding labia, how could they not? They did edit the beginning a fair bit, so the comments about an aspersioned-againgst fallopian tube unfortunately no longer make sense, but that’s ok, you still get the drift! It starts thusly:

I think a part of me always knew I would end up on a long and winding road to motherhood. I never had much faith in my bits.

I had horrendous periods from age 13 that lasted weeks on end. I’ve had Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome for the past 14 years, and I didn’t meet my true love (happy sigh) until I was 34.

I was almost 36 when we started trying to get pregnant. Six months later we were told we needed to do IVF

I barreled my way through IVF, assuring all and sundry, including myself, that I was fine, it was fine, and I had no idea why anyone ever complained about IVF.

That included when I got Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (yes yes, I do love a good syndrome) and basically felt like a cow with giant internal udders. Turns out I had 40 follicles. 40. That’s a lot.

The upside of strung out ovaries is that we got a lot of eggs and a decent amount of viable embryos. We did three unsuccessful rounds of IVF and that was what brought my ‘I’m fine’ mantra crashing down around me, from which I didn’t recover for almost two years.

They were about to try IVF again, when it happened

That was two years ago, almost to the day. I’m now 40 and time is seriously a-waistin’. There’s no more time for breakdowns, so we recently started again by doing another round.

We used two more of our precious embryos and again had no success. I cried non-stop for days. I’m thinking this is probably much more healthy than my previous lock-jawed railing against my emotions.

Then, last month, as we were about to try again…

My labia exploded.

Allow me to explain.

You can read the rest here!

 

4 Comments

Filed under blogging, Family, Friends, Health, Humour, IVF, Love, MamaMia, Motherhood, Sex, Submission, Women/Feminist, Writing

4 responses to “The Day My Labia Exploded

  1. Genevieve Tucker (@mulberry_road)

    OH HOORAY. Saved to read when son finishes talking to me. Well done!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Marlowe and the Minion | into the quiet

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

