Today

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Today the Australian government let us all down, fucked us all over, and embarrassed themselves.
Today I thought about my mother four times. I haven’t seen my mother in over a year. I miss her.
Today I imagined myself in Tuscany, brushing my fingers across the smiles of sunflowers.
Today I wondered if I will be pregnant and 40 or just plain 40.
Today, for the briefest moment, I saw music in colour.
Today I laughed at an unexpected text message.
Today I played chasey with a cat.
Today I wondered what I would do with twenty million dollars.
Today I did not come close to fulfilling my potential.  
And as the sun dips in the sky, I yearn for sleep.
Because tomorrow I pull on my wonder woman boots, fasten my superman cape, roar out of my bat cave and start creating honest to goodness miracles.
16 Comments

Filed under Australia, Flash fiction, Hothouse exercise, IVF, List poem, Poetry, Writing

16 responses to “Today

  1. KGB

    Oh you are a beautiful soul, today I pray that some of those dreams do come true for you xxxx

    Like

  2. Today I read this and thought what a great woman you are.
    Thank you for you.

    Like

  3. Clive

    Simonne, Don’t change. You’re not only a writer but a philosopher.and a girl with soul.
    XX

    Like

  4. PG

    Oh I loved this. And honey – you will never be “just old plain” anything – have you looked in the mirror recently?!! Today, I realised my fake lashes were uneven. After the glue dried. Today, I felt literally sick to my stomach when I found out about the marriage equality bill not passing Parliament, feeling like something really bad had just happened and I had no control over it. Today, I also did not get anywhere near fulfilling my potential, but had inklings of SUCH FUCKING POTENTIAL. Today, I had tears in my eyes reading my bestie’s artful composition of words. xoxoxo

    Like

  5. sandybarker

    Today I read a thoughtful and powerful Blog post.

    Like

  6. Made me smile. And that last line was a treat.

    Like

  7. Dawn

    Made me cry. Beautiful, poetic n uplifting. Xxx

    Like

  8. Absolutely beautiful. You are wonderful. Made me mad, laugh, tear up and think of what I’ve thought about today.

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

