Blood

I remember blogging about a new feminist short short story I was working on a while ago and have just discovered it was over a year ago! (Along with my attempts to get knocked up, and here am I still at that too!) That particular story did undergo several drafts and then sat in a drawer for a long time. But it is now in (digital) print at Verity La literary journal and I’m really pleased because it’s rather a heavy piece and certainly wouldn’t be to everyone’s liking, so I think it’s great the folks at Verity decided it give it a home. It’s called Blood.

After twelve years of marriage his fishing hat, which sits forgotten on my armoire, is all that remains. The house creaks and groans, trying to establish a new order. The floorboards still look for his heavy, morning footfalls, while the dip in the mattress defiantly begins to rise up.I have trouble sleeping. I go down okay. I starfish on the bottom sheet, fanning my legs back and forth back and forth across the cotton. But at 3am the novelty of space wears off and I’m a frozen arrow of flesh in the middle of the bed.I walk down the hall and into the living-room. I sit on the couch and let the tears come. They don’t come evenly. They either barrel out of me in great, wracking sobs, or they drip silently down my face and gather at my chin.

I am overcome with a desire to see my vagina. I don’t question this desire. I have not seen my vagina in many years.

I bring the square mirror from the bathroom. Pyjama bottoms off, I sit on the floor with my knees spread open. I hold the mirror, its bottom edge resting on the carpet. For a moment I don’t look. I just sit, naked from the waist down, and realise I have not been this thoroughly alone in a very long time.

Then I look down.
I am Alice looking in the glass.
I am pulled down. Then sucked up, travelling backwards inside myself. A sticky diary of all that has gone before.

To read more click here.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Australia, Beauty, blogging, Criticism, Editing, Fiction, Flash fiction, Love, Motherhood, Political Writing, Sex, Short Stories, Submission, Women/Feminist, Writing

2 responses to “Blood

  1. Hey honey, now this is heavy stuff… I don’t think I’ve ever seen my vagina, I better start looking, ha ha kidding.
    I don’t really blog now, I can hardly visit my fav blogs because of my health taking a nose dive early this year but I will try to come more often, your writing makes my day.
    Good luck with the baby thing, do tell once you get knocked up, me thinks that day is near.

    Like

  2. Dawn

    Wow – some story. Good. It’s great that it was published – good for you.

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

