Good to Know

So, 2010 is going to be a big year for a lot of people (I’m a Numerologist, you just have to trust me on this one), me included. So far this year I have quit my job and am contemplating starting my own business. See? Yes, I finish up in the speech writing job at the end of this week. I gave it four months and that was long enough to know it wasn’t for me. I’m very glad I had the opportunity to do it, as now I know I don’t want to write for a living unless it’s fiction or I’m writing about health/natural healing/numerology etc. I’ve spent many years wondering if I should get a ‘proper’ writing job and now I’ve had one I know it’s not for me. Good to know.

So now what? Well, as it turns out, my old boss was thrilled I was available again and has reinstated me as the weight loss coach to her poor unsuspecting clients once more. Won’t THEY be happy to see me back? [insert evil laugh here] On top of that I am currently investigating a business opportunity in a new wellness centre near us and will keep you duly posted about that.

I’ve been spending much more time doing Numerology readings for people than writing recently, BUT I can give you the happy news that a wonderful literary journal in Melbourne has accepted one of my short stories. Woot! I’ll be letting you know more about that soon.

So, it looks like Into the Quiet might become all things alternative healing and writing focussed in 2010. Hope that’s alright with all y’all.

17 Comments

Filed under blogging, Books, Editing, Exercise, Fiction, Food, Health, Melbourne, New Year, Numerology, Short Stories, Speech Writing, Spiritual, Weight Loss, Writing

17 responses to “Good to Know

  1. Wow – so many people I know are making changes lately. Cheers to yours! And congrats on the story – can’t wait to hear more about that! x

    Like

  2. Well, I think 2010 will be a year of decisions for me…my ‘baby’ is in school full-time this year, so I need to do something useful with myself, but I’m pretty sure I don’t want to do graphic design anymore. Time to take painting seriously, time to buckle down and do some serious ‘vocational’ study (Dip. Ed?……hmmm, really don’t think I was cut out to be a teacher)…I’m not sure, but time for a change anyway. Hope 2010 is a good one for you too!

    Like

  3. What a huge start to the year – not even two weeks in!
    What journal has accepted your story?

    Like

  4. It’s so true, Simonne – everyone but EVERYONE I know is regarding 2010 as the year of change. And it seems they’re overwhelmingly positive about it. How can this happen in such a sweeping way? I feel it myself, and it’s interesting to me that so many other people are feeling it too.

    You took the plunge! I was wondering what was going to happen with the speechwriting – I think it’s excellent eliminating things, it’s very clarifying and liberating knowing what kind of writing you *don’t* want to do. I had a similar realisation a few years ago and it was a great release walking away. Best of luck exploring the practicalities of the new venture! And CONGRATULATIONS on the short story acceptance (cue desk dance) – that’s awesome news! Details, please.

    Like

    • Yes, everyone can FEEL it! It’s wonderful! Big shifts are usually felt by lots of people.

      Yup, I took the plunge and very glad I did. Elimination is good huh? πŸ˜‰ Thanks re the story, will let you know deets soon πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Simonne, congrats on the story. Can you read my numbers for me? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks Koraly. I don’t do free readings/healings any more, hope that’s ok. More than happy to do a reading for you if you still want one. Just email me if you do πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Happy New Year! Sounds like change is afoot and you have an incredible adventure before you! Enjoy.

    Like

  7. That’s big news. It’s relatively rare in life (or maybe just for me) to quite definitely realize when something is NOT for you…it’s just as positive as finding something that is, I think.

    And a story published too…good signs…

    Like

  8. Congratulations Simonne. 2010 will be the year for you, I feel it.

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

