Emerging Writers’ Festival

EWFHeader

The First Word, the opening night event of the Emerging Writers’ Festival was held at the BMW Edge in Federation Square on Friday night. We were treated to some wonderful performances, listened to a few speeches, and got to see the Hypotheticals panel (in true Geoffrey Robinson style) get into a rather heated discussion about ivory towers, poetry of the streets, and semantics, among other things!

Perth’s Shane McCarthy gave a wonderfully unique keynote/call to arms speech encouraging writers to throw off the blanket of insecurity we have a tendency to cower behind, in favour of pronouncing to all and sundry that we are writers and we are proud, loud, and here to be feared by the general populace (due to our unwavering talent and quest for truth). This behaviour is expected of both sorts of writers… published AND unpublished! Gosh, we like him even more now…

For those of you in Melbourne, please come down to the Town Hall on Saturday the 30th at 12.30 to hear moi and four very distinguished interstate writers Rachel Hennessy, Jennifer Mills, Lisette Ogg, and Sean Riley discussing the unique voice of each of our states in the The Great State Divide panel. The panel will be hosted by the most gorgeous Dion Kagan, editor extraordinaire. I, of course, will be representing WA… I must start thinking about this somewhat troubling topic actually, so please excuse me while I shove my nose in another Tim Winton book…


13 Comments

Filed under Australia, Festivals, Fiction, Humour, Inspirational, Poetry, Reading, Writing

13 responses to “Emerging Writers’ Festival

  1. Yayaya, that sounds very cool. Especially throwing off the insecurity and fear thingy, I second that emotion. And you are on a panel! Lucky I’m not there or there would be all sorts of whooping woohoo hurray yayayay go Simonne! type loud noises from up the back.

    Like

    • Yes, I have no idea how I ended up on a panel – being the least distinguished of the five writers speaking, but there you are! I wish you could be there too!
      I did have the privilege of seeing your blogging mate Maxine Clarke perform at The First Word and she was great ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Ahhh, yes, when someone says “and are you a writer too?” do you have that default urge to say something vague about ‘doing some writing’ rather than just saying “Yes, I am”? I’m still struggling a bit with the ‘artist’ tag…I find it depends who I’m talking to…guess I need to get over that!

    Like

    • He he. I used to, yes, but am much more confident now. Varuna was the turning point for me. I find it interesting that you struggle with the artist tag, when you are an incredibly talented one, with quite a fair few sales and commissions under your belt… time to throw off any lasting vestiges of fear methinks… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. We shall brandish our spears!

    Like

  4. Sounds like a great time. Too bad, I’m a world away.

    Like

  5. Being in an international blogging community is a funny thing. It’s easy to forget about the vast geographical distances between some of us sometimes.

    Like

  6. How I wish I could be in two places at once.
    Being in company that understands the muse really helps the writer in us all.
    If only there were the twelve steps to publication.
    Stand up and declare
    I am I writer, and I use syntax.

    Like

    • That’s so true, Kerry, about being in like-minded company. This weekend (immersing myself in the festival panel discussions) has been totally wonderful. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. Sounds like a great time! Enjoy.

    Like

  8. sandybarker

    Oh, that all sounds wonderful. Wishing I could have been there.

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

