Blogiversary!

birthday

It seems that my blog is having a birthday. Into the Quiet has officially hit the terrible twos! It’s somewhat hard to believe I’ve been writing posts here for two years (with a few months break here and there). My how time doth fly. The blog has even had a name change in this time. Those of you who’ve been visiting me here for the duration will recall the blog used to be called Cliterary Fiction in deference to my work at the time on my (perpetually in progress) book Does My Vagina Look Fat in This? To think that I’ve also written a whole other book in this time doesn’t seem real to me. Not that the Vagina book is finished. Ha! No. I did actually write the entire manuscript and have since trashed the whole thing to start anew, but that’s another story, for another post.

So for old time’s sake I thought we could revisit a few posts from this blog’s wee beginnings. This first post is a poem I wrote in a 3rd year university class (it’s very very old, in other words…) and is still what I consider to be the best poem I’ve ever written – which doesn’t say much about how my poetry has progressed, but then, I suppose I’ve never made any claims of being a poet.

This second post will never not be funny to me. Never. Every word is true. It concerns my hair and my wedding preparations. I defy you to read it and not laugh…

23 Comments

Filed under Art, Australia, Fiction, Flash fiction, Humour, Inspirational, Love, My Book, Poetry, Reading, Sex, Wedding, Women/Feminist, Writing

23 responses to “Blogiversary!

  1. Happy blog-bday! Our blogs are almost twins πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Thanks blog-buddy!

    Sounds like you had an amazing time at the Newstead Short Story Tattoo πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday.
    My how the 2 years has flown by. I have been a reader of and a fan of yours for most of that time. I am not sure how it was I happened across your blog way back when. Possibly I was guided to it, possibly it was just my lucky day. How ever I happened upon it has been a true blessing for which I am truly grateful.
    Over the past 2 years it does seem the world has become a slightly better place. Hmm, two years, I now understand why.
    Simonne, my friend you have been a blessing to so many and I do thank you.
    It is my hope and prayer you will continue to share yourself with the world for many, many more years to come.
    Happy Birthday, my friend
    Bill

    Like

  4. I love the second post – I came to this late – so hadn’t seen it before. I understand completely, and am so glad you shopped around. You looked amazing at your wedding!

    Congrats on 2 years!!

    Like

  5. Happy blogaversary dear girl. The time does fly, doesn’t. I remember both of the cited posts with smiles and warmth. Those were two of my favorites as well.

    You’ve accomplished a lot in these last two years and I for one am proud of you [and truth be told a little jealous πŸ˜‰ ].
    I know I’ve not been visiting much but I should be around more often now.

    Once again, congrats.

    Love
    Annie

    Like

    • Thanks for your wonderful vote of confidence, Annie, means a lot πŸ™‚
      I haven’t been around much either, but am trying to get the balance right, so see you over at your place for a cyber-cuppa soon!

      Like

  6. Hahahahappy Birthdayayayayayaya!!!

    Like

  7. Happy Blogbirthday!

    Like

  8. NAT

    mmmm 2 years? Time does fly! and think of all the things you’ve accomplished in that short time:
    – got married
    – packed your pen to Melb
    – went on writers’ retreat
    – won a prize for your writing
    – and last but shockingly: cut down your glorious mane!
    I recall the first 2 posts mentioned very well…and yes the second is still hillarious even after all that time – makes one wonder why society puts so much pressure on the bride – or could it be the bride puts so much pressure on herself?
    In any case a happy Birthday to your blog…and all the best wishes for the next 2.
    Nx

    Like

    • When you put it like that, Nat… gosh, I have been busy!
      I don’t miss the mane at all, funnily. No-one ever told me how EASY short hair is! I don’t even own a brush any more!
      Thanks so much for stopping by xx

      Like

  9. I might be a newcomer to the party, but happy ‘Add New Post’ anniversary to ye Simonne!

    Hm, a present… what to give the trailblazer of mankind’s future survival as a reduced-size nation?!

    A blogroll – that’ll do πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. CJ

    Wow; two years, already? Happy Anniversary, Simonne. May it long be a source of support and expression for you, and a source of enjoyment, wonder, and inspiration for us.

    (I got such a laugh from re-reading post #2 too.)

    Like

    • Nooor! Thanks CJ. You’re the one who helped me set it up, so thank you, gorgeous man.
      And yes, I thought you might have a wee laugh over the old pre-wedding hair predicament!
      Sx

      Like

  11. Hey Simonne, happy blogthday!!! Your site ROCKS!

    Like

  12. Congrats on your blogaversary. Time does fly when you’re blogging. A marvellous game, isn’t it?

    Like

  13. I’m so glad you linked to the two older posts. Both are amazing. That poem! And I laughed out loud picturing your eyeball rolling across the floor.

    Happy b-day.

    Like

  14. Pingback: Melbourne Mischief « into the quiet

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

