Melbourne, screaming, and general frivolities

I’ve been waking up nights to the sound of distant screaming recently. It’s been disconcerting and, frankly, weird. Because these aren’t blood-curdling, I’m-being-murdered screams, but those of the barely audible, squeaky, pathetic variety. (Yes, who knew there were so many varieties. Now shush, this is my exaggerated anecdote.) It took me quite some sleepless nights of skulking around the house to realise that the screams were coming from my laptop. Yes people. My blog was crying. I know.

So, here I am [imagines rousing cheering], clearly with little to nothing of any import to say. What? When did I ever say that that was my purpose?

Okay. So, the move to sunny [coughs] Melbourne went extremely well. Only one thing out of all our possessions got broken and it was ugly anyway, so we gained something really. The car and the furniture arrived when they were supposed to. Yes. Shocking. And we’ve settled into our lovely little suburb rather well. We’re in walking distance from cafés and restaurants and a totally sublime art deco cinema. CJ is in his element and I fear he may have to get a second job just to keep up the movie-going.

As for all things writing, I can’t tell you how good it is to be in one of the three official cities of literature. (Yes, Iowa received its crown in November.) The bad news is that the publisher turned me down [imagines booing and hissing]. She did, however, have some good things to say (phew), but ultimately Beat just wasn’t for her. Other possibilities are afoot at the moment though and I won’t go into details just yet. You know. In case I jinx it and whatnot. I’m churning out the short stories at the moment and totally enjoying the form after spending so much concentrated time on the novel.

It is my sincere hope that this post – and of course the subsequent brilliant posts I have lined up for you [ahem], will put an end to the diminutive screaming that has been disturbing my new house-plants. See you soon.

8 Comments

Filed under Australia, Fiction, Humour, My Book, Writing

8 responses to “Melbourne, screaming, and general frivolities

  1. Oh good, you heard me. And yayaya you’re back. There are some bloody silly publishers out there. Who would turn down your book? We are all out here waiting eagerly for the opportunity to purchase it and viral market it all over the place and make you and your publisher as rich and famous as you deserve to be. (Actually I have been reading a lot of Australian publisher and magazine type blogs lately and it is really a sad state of affairs, how far behind the times most of the Australian literati seem to be.) Helllloooooo again, I missed you.

    Like

  2. Woohoo! Great to see you back. Can’t wait to see all the great stuff you’ve got lined up for us. One silly rejection will not deny me the pleasure of getting my hands on a copy of ‘Beat’. I hope that doesn’t sound over-confident.

    Like

  3. Bill

    So really good to see you back. What do publishers know, obviously not much.
    Bill

    Like

  4. sandybarker

    A parallel universe to mine on the other side of the world – right down to the walkable neighborhood and the art deco cinema. Sorry to hear about the publisher’s decline, but your book is out there now, so it is only a matter of time. Sending you lots of positive thoughts, and welcome back – we, your readers, missed you.

    Like

  5. Kim

    welcome back and thanks for the update. now (cracks imaginary whip) write for us! 🙂

    Like

  6. Welcome back dear one! You’ve been missed, and I’m glad you’ve settled into what sounds like a lovely place to live.

    Keep feeling encouraged with your writing; all that good feedback you got was for a reason, and I look forward to hearing about your new opportunity once it’s out of the “jinx free” zone 😉

    Like

  7. Dawn

    Welcome back indeed! Keep writing and keep sharing it with us – your adoring fans.

    Like

  8. Hey Paul, missed you too, buddy. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

    Brad, I neeeeed some over-confidence right now 😉

    Hi darling Bill, hope you are well.

    Sandy, I love how in sync we always seem to be.

    Yes ma’am, Kim! Right away!

    Thanks Romi and Dawn. It’s good to have a break from blogging every now and again, but I could never stay away too long!

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

