Varuna Adventures

So, I promised to tell of my Varuna adventures when I returned, and as I arrived home yesterday, here I am… But, you see, I don’t even know where to start, it was so amazing!

The house itself is just gorgeous, and a wonderful, quiet place for writing. “There’s something in these walls”, we all said to one another at dinner after a full day of writing. The Blue Mountains and Katoomba are so pretty and I did a fair amount of exploring and jogging in all kinds of weather! I got sunburnt and I danced in the snow!

I met some amazing writers and made some lifelong friendships too, which made my stay there so very wonderful, and I miss them already!

Everything I heard about how wonderful Peter Bishop, the Creative Director, is is all true and then some. He took my manuscript away with him to read over the first weekend I was there and then we had a meeting about it on the Monday. He liked it! He liked it! In fact, he liked it enough to recommend that I send it off to a publisher while I was there. I thought maybe that was a bit soon (we’re always afraid of letting our darlings go, aren’t we?) as it needs another draft, but he seemed to think it was ready for an editor. Anyway, he came in the next day and said mine was one of those books you can’t get out of your head and that he was going to contact the publisher on my behalf. Happy happy joy joy. The publisher emailed me the next day and asked me to send them the whole ms… so it’s now in their hands and I’m waiting it out.

Talk about opportunities at Varuna, sheesh.

So now, I’m packing up my entire house with my husband as we prepare for our move to Melbourne. All our stuff is being picked up and shipped off on Friday. So much to do!

Varuna

Susuan Greene, me, Katherine Howell
Susan Green, me, Katherine Howell

The Gang of Four with Peter Bishop

19 Comments

Filed under Australia, My Book, Writing

19 responses to “Varuna Adventures

  1. Welcome back! What wonderful news about your book. I’ll be lining up at the book store for a signed copy in no time.

    Like

  2. jackblackrabbit

    That is fantastic news – I am have been looking at my unfinished novel and “wishing” so that is very inspiring!

    Like

  3. Great news, Simonne. It’s good to see you back.

    Like

  4. Sounds like you had a great time and opened up some new doors! Very exciting.

    Like

  5. Thanks Paul, that’s a lovely thing to say!
    Glad you’re inspired Jackrabbit! Is it possible for you to create a link in your name to your site so we can visit you?
    Hi Brad! 🙂
    Tobeme – I had an amazing time, I really did.

    Like

  6. Sounds like a great trip. And I’ve got my fingers crossed for you.

    Like

  7. kaylee

    hi

    Hi Lovely, hope all is well with you 🙂

    Like

  8. Hi Simonne

    That’s fantastic news about your novel! I’m so glad your experience at the residency was great too. Just what a writer needs eh? Good luck with the move – I don’t know about you but it’s always a hassle to move my books…but I won’t get rid of them.
    Congratulations again!

    Like

  9. Hi Whiti,

    Thanks! Yes, I hope to do another residency one day soon – it was so great.
    As for the books – we had so many boxes of them! But I was ruthless this time and gave away quite a few box fulls as well!
    Sx

    Like

  10. romi41

    Wow….sounds like you had such a productive retreat, and I’m not the least bit surprised at the attention you received….that’s amazing! 🙂

    Nice pics by the way, and “AHHH”…good luck with the move! 😉

    Oooor shucks! Thanks hon 🙂

    Like

  11. Grace

    ((( Simonne )))

    You’re so adorable 🙂 And I’m THRILLED for you! I just know one of these days, I’ll come back here and find that you are on the NYT Best Selling List…. grinning HUGE here, Goddess….Keep on writing!

    Like

  12. Sounds awesome. Glad you’re back safe and happy.

    Like

  13. Good for you on the book. I knew you had it in you. Please let me know where and when I can buy it. I am happy for you my friend.
    Bill

    Like

  14. uppington

    Awesome! I can’t wait to read the book. You deserve this.

    Like

  15. romi41

    Hey Simonne, hope the move’s been going well, and Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Like

  16. Kim

    i hope these holidays find you settling in to your new life location…

    Namaste’

    Like

  17. Just a quick drop in to wish you a Merry Christmas.
    Bill

    Like

  18. Oh RAD! How awesome is Varuna? I miss Peter! I’m so happy he got in touch with the publisher for you. Don’t forget to drop me a line when you’re in town.

    😀

    Angela

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

