LongLines Varuna Residency

Happy sighs abound today (not to mention the manic grins and unheralded outbursts of laughter). I found out that I’ve been accepted into the Varuna Writers’ Residency program in Sydney as the West Australian candidate for my current novel, Beat.

“At Varuna, writers work with the support of stimulating development programs and lively engagement with the reading public, fellow writers, literary organisations and publishers.” Varuna offers Fellowships, residencies and numerous programs to writers and is highly regarded throughout Australia. To say I’m happy that I was awarded a residency is a rather vast understatement!

Here’s what Australian author, Robert Drewe had to say about his stay there:

I’ll be recommending the Varuna experience to anyone who will listen. Especially at the beginning of a book it could make all the difference to any writer’s project. I found the atmosphere very conducive to work, and the tranquillity gave my project a calmness that it’s lacked all the time I’ve been worrying away at it………..Robert Drewe

The LongLines program provides professional development, professional networking opportunities and genuine pathways to publication. The program is a national one and it celebrates and protects the integrity of regional writing. One of the exciting things about this program is that for many writers it provides the pathway to a career in writing. I can take the two week residency between October of this year and May of next year. Varuna House is in Katoomba, a town nestled along a ridge of the beautiful Blue Mountains.

Happy sigh.

Varuna House

27 Comments

Filed under Art, Fiction, My Book, Writing

27 responses to “LongLines Varuna Residency

  1. wrothful

    That’s fantastic news! Congratulations! I hope your time there is very productive (I’m sure it will be). You’re going to be in a beautiful part of the world – one of my favourites.

    Like

  2. Dawn

    Congratulations! Wonderful wonderful news and so richly deserved. NOW will you believe me when I say you have talent?? Lots of love and blessings.

    Like

  3. Grace

    Oh, Simonne…what glorious news! πŸ™‚ I’m THRILLED for you, Goddess! You deserve to have the doors of the earth blown open for you – your work is that wonderful! THANK YOU so much for sharing your good news…it couldn’t have happened to a better writer πŸ˜‰

    xoxoxo

    Like

  4. And very well done to you! There is nothing more imortant to a writer than recognition. And from what I’ve read recently, you deserve it.

    Like

  5. Congrats!! Sounds like one heck of an opportunity!

    Like

  6. Yayay. Congratulations and richly deserved too. I tried to get into Varuna years and years ago and had no success. I know what an honour it is and you have every right to be proud as a panda. Send us frequent updates on your residency, I’ll be fascinated to know every detail. Woohoo, what a wonderful world,

    Like

  7. It looks like a beautiful peaceful place. You are to be congratulated on attaining a great honor. And should prove a great setting for writing.

    For my style a curb in front of a Crackhouse would be more conducive for work but to each their own.

    Like

  8. Fantastic! Hope you have a productive time during your residency.
    When I found out I got the Randell Cottage residency for 2007 I literally jumped for joy – did you?
    Congratulations!

    Like

  9. Well earned! Great news. GO GO Go girl and write.
    Since that is what you are good at and it makes your heart sing. Congratulations

    Like

  10. Wrothful, your comment and emails filled me with joy, thank you again.
    Dawn, I think I have believed you for some time now, but yes, I do! Thank you, and thank you for believing right from the very beginning.
    Grace, that’s a lovely thing to say – we’re on fire at the moment, you and I! πŸ˜‰
    From you Anthony, I take that as a great compliment πŸ™‚ And yes, it’s true about needing recognition, as writing is such a solitary pursuit sometimes you wonder if what you’re doing is any good at all!
    Thanks Tobeme!
    Paul, yes, I heard it was rather difficult and competitive, and if you don’t get it the first time to keep trying. Proud as a panda?! Hilarious. And yes, I wholeheartedly agree, it IS a wonderful world!
    Pure Evyl, welcome to the light πŸ˜‰ But stop hanging around here and get yourself off to that crackhouse…
    Whiti, I looked up the Randell Cottage residence – it looks like an amazing residency – well done! You’ll have to tell me what you got out of it.
    RW, what a lovely thing to say – yes, it’s always made my heart sing – along with tear my hair out sometimes, but that’s just the way it is!

    Like

  11. Congratulations simonne.
    Manic grins and unheralded outbursts of laughter…Sounds like someone’s a little EXCITED!
    It sounds like a great place for you. You deserve it for sure.

    Like

  12. Melana

    Congratulations! What a wonderful opportunity and well deserved. You go girl! Write your heart out…

    Like

  13. Thanks Chris and Melana πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. romi41

    This is so fantastic! I love the part about:

    “the tranquillity gave my project a calmness that it’s lacked all the time I’ve been worrying away at it”

    …it sounds like a wonderful place to create and grow…I will love to hear about it once you’ve done it!

    Congrats! πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Thanks Romi. It does look like a gorgeous place, and I’ve never been to the Blue Mountains, so I’m very much looking foward to it.

    Like

  16. Oh, my.
    Writing Nirvana?
    Really frickin’ close.
    Happy for you.
    A bit jealous too . . . πŸ˜‰
    Beautiful place to write.
    Good luck, Simm
    Keep us posted, okay?
    ~m

    Like

  17. He he, yes Michael, it just may be writing Nirvana πŸ˜‰
    Will be sure to keep you posted.

    Like

  18. Whoop! That is wonderful news! Yay, one step closer to those bookshelves, eh? Hurrah!

    Like

  19. Thanks Sunili. Yes, that’s a pretty cool way of looking at it πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. Marissa

    just got the news, that is fantastic! I knew you were destined for great things, CONGRATULATIONS!!! How did you keep it a secret from me when I met you the other day???

    Like

  21. venus00

    Wow, that is fantastic. I can’t say that I am surprised as you have impressed me with every word you write. What a perfect retreat to let your creativity flow.
    Blessings Goddess!

    Like

  22. Thanks Marissa! I didn’t keep it a secret on purpose! That time was your time… plus I think I just forgot to tell you!

    Thanks Goddess Venus, what a lovely thing to say πŸ™‚

    Like

  23. sandybarker

    Congratulations, Sim. What a brilliant opportunity and much deserved!

    Like

  24. kudos to you simonne

    Like

  25. Thanks so much Sand – feels like we’ve at this a long time, doesn’t it?

    Thanks very much Jade.

    Like

  26. Pingback: Cake, theatre, and goosebumps « into the quiet

  27. Pingback: So, where have I been…? « into the quiet

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

