Cottonmouth

Cottonmouth is Perth’s new kid on the block in everything zine-y and performance art-y. They look like a pretty together bunch of talented and creative youngsters too. Check out their website and blog if you don’t believe me. It’s not a moment too soon, in my humble opinion, that Perth has such a professional outfit to showcase and encourage some of the talent we have here. In their own words:

The Cottonmouth performance project showcases spoken-word artists, poets, sound artists, playwrights, new media practitioners and other emerging and established performers in the field of narrative art.

I went along to their last performance night at the Rosemount Hotel and it was packed to the rafters with all sorts of colourful characters, least of which was a devil, replete with horns and a frightening vocal range (think Louis Armstrong to Elmo). For those of us who came up trumps in the battle for oxygen, we were treated to all manner of performance poetry, some verbose rapping by a young man called Mathas, and a reading by a young woman from her own zine titled ‘Letters to my Exes’ (there were [ahem] 38 of them and one of them had a huge penis, but that’s another story).

Despite my ribs being crushed by the throngs of mussy-haired GenY’s in thongs, it was a good night and a delight to see such a turnout in little old Perth for some kulcha for like, art ‘n stuff. Who knows, maybe I’ll dust off my vocal chords and give it a go. I did like performance poetry back in my Uni days. If I can just muss up my hair a bit more…

8 Comments

Filed under Art, Fiction, Humour, Poetry, Review, Theatre, Writing, Zines

8 responses to “Cottonmouth

  1. Cool, that sounds like a great night. I’m jealous but I feel good anyway that it happened. I will go check out these young upandcomers, bearers of the flame in childdevil costumery,

    Like

  2. venus00

    Hehe I forgot that “Thong” means footwear in Austrailia. I thought for a moment – Damn that was some wild party! πŸ™‚ Sounds like some wonderful people watching and a great time!

    Like

  3. It was a good night Paul. Yes, check ’em out!

    Alas Venus, it wasn’t that sort of shindig… although, the lass reading about her exploits with her 38 beaus was certainly along those lines. And yes, these were the sort of thongs you wear on your feet πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Sounds like you and many others had a great time. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. romi41

    I think I’m a borderline gen-y-er, but needless to say the mussy-haired throngs frighten me…

    PS: if you end up giving that performance poetry another go, I expect you to post a video for our viewing pleasure πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. Thanks Mark πŸ™‚
    Romi, won’t make any promises on the video front πŸ˜‰

    Like

  7. It’s good to see people getting together like this, highlighting local talent, rather than relying on the inane main media we get nowadays.

    Like

  8. It is good isn’t it Anthony? Especially as I think maybe some poets might not get out enough so when they do – watch out! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

