Every body

I’m a masseuse and a personal trainer. Being both does seem to make some people a little apologetic when I first massage them. Not people. Women. Some women think that while I’m ironing out their tired legs with my forearm that I am judging their size, reeling from their cellulite, measuring their girth with my fingers. I’m not. And the last thing they need do is ever apologise about their own body. Especially to me.

Feeling someone relax under your hands is such a magical thing. It’s such a privilege to lay your hands on someone. To say to someone – this is your time, I am your servant, you relax, breathe and let me iron out your hurts and knead away your worries. The last thing I think of when I’m massaging is about how many stairs my client can do on the stair master and if their thighs might be a bit smaller. My personal trainer eyes switch focus when I’m massaging because when I massage every body is incredibly beautiful and every body is worthy of being touched and nurtured.

Of course, as a personal trainer I’m mean as hell… but that’s another story.

18 Comments

Filed under Health, Humour, Inspirational, Love, Spiritual, Women/Feminist

18 responses to “Every body

  1. Nice place! Most impressive…
    As to the post, I was quite relaxed until I got to that last line…then every bone in my 51 year old body groaned out loud!
    πŸ˜†

    Like

  2. Thanks a-mum. No groaning – get up those stairs… NOW! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. I’ve wondered about that after having a massage.
    For some reason, I feel whale-like on the table (though I’m not)
    The feeling of a body relaxing beneath your hands and considering it magical?
    I thought that was an amazing assessment.
    Massage therapists are for the most part artists in their own right.
    Interesting post.
    Reminds me I need a massage soon. πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for the visit today and the link.
    be well,
    ~m

    Like

  4. Welcome Michael πŸ™‚ Yes, I guess it is a bit of an art; it’s certainly intuitive for me anyway.
    Yes! Go get a massage immediately!

    Like

  5. …then you embody what a masseuse should be,
    a spirituality and respect must radiate from
    your hands, I have played with the idea and
    have given massages, it is wonderful to ease
    or soothe someone, and maybe actually heal
    a person in this manner.

    Like

  6. Thanks Jade, that’s lovely, and welcome to into the quiet… πŸ™‚
    Healing is such a Universal thing; it’s about love and intent and I’m a firm believer that anyone laying their hands on someone with love and the right intent can heal.

    Like

  7. Damn you’re a hard woman! No allowances for being old?? That’s harsh!
    :mrgreen:

    Like

  8. Allowances? For being old?! PFFT!! Being old just means you have to work HARDER! … Tell me you’re not sitting with a beer in your hand right now? [Sigh] Get up! [Waits]…No, I’m not kidding… now drop and give me twenty… yeah yeah, I can hear you laughing from here…

    Like

  9. Oh how I wish you lived here. I’d be first up on your table.
    Annie

    Like

  10. c

    i loved your last line.

    i’ve never gotten a massage.
    i’m too shy.

    i bought my husband a gift certificate at a spa for a massage but he was to shy and regifted it to a boss of his. Do you get shy folks on the table? Being rubbed calm and relaxed is so personal.

    Like

  11. You’d be so more than welcome Annie πŸ™‚

    C! I can’t believe you’ve never had a massage! I urge you to have one – go on, try something new πŸ™‚
    Yes, I often get shy folks on the table because I also work for a physiotherapist at his clinic a few days a week and he sometimes refers his patients to me. Often these are the people who’ve never had a massage and can be very shy. It is very personal, I agree, but I keep the room fairly dark and warm and use throw rugs as well as towels so it’s a very safe, comfortable environment. Often these shy people are the ones who then book in week after week because they end up loving it so much πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. romi41

    You are a personal trainer???? Oh my gosh, I need you to yell at me so I don’t give up on my mediocre-fits of cardio!!!

    Like

  13. Sure honey, I’ll yell at you! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  14. sandybarker

    I love how you find beauty in everyone. A few years ago I went to the Korean Baths where all the women walk around nude, and I remember thinking that the bodies were so diverse and so beautiful – all of them. I must remember this when I am hyper critical of my own bod.

    Like

  15. Sand, you made a comment at 4:44! You Angel, you! Your comment took me straight back to 1998 when I went to Turkey and went to a traditional bath house – it is amazing isn’t it? And yes, you’re right, that’s a great memory to go back to when we’re being self-critical.

    Like

  16. Bill

    You have the ability to make people feel good, feel more relaxed just through you writing. In person be it on your massage table or where ever it must be awesome.
    I agree that every human body is beautiful, size, shape nothing detracts from the beauty

    Like

  17. Grace

    This was wonderfully reassuring in that I hope the people that work on me are coming from the same space.

    I would imagine being under your hands would be a very spiritual and magical experience, Goddess…all that love just streaming through them!
    xoxo πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. Hi Bill, lovely to see you here πŸ™‚ Thank you my friend.

    Grace, that’s a lovely thing to say, thank you!

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

