Paradox

Your voice is stronger than mine, so you speak up.

Ok.

Wait!

What?

You spoke too loud.

Oh, sorry.

You’re more attractive than me, so you go ahead and I’ll follow.

Ok.

Wait!

What?

You went too far ahead, now I feel left behind.

Oh, sorry.

You’re better known than me, so you voice your dissent.

Ok.

Wait!

What?

Not that much dissent.

Oh, sorry.

You’re more educated than me, so you re-write the laws to make change.

Ok.

Wait!

What?

What if I don’t agree with them?

You could write them yourself?

Oh no, I couldn’t do that, that’s your job.

4 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Poetry, Women/Feminist, Writing

4 responses to “Paradox

  1. Doktor Holocaust

    the phrase that echoes in every evil overlord’s wettest of dreams, other than “Yes, dark lord,” is “That’s not my job.” The more authority people surrender because they don’t want the responsibility that comes with it, the less power they have over their own lives.

    and if i wasn’t such a slacker, I’d be exploiting that fact myself.

    Like

  2. So simple and yet so true…

    Like

  3. romi41

    A perfect title…very true indeed.

    Like

  4. Hey Doc, power is an amazing thing, eh? I gave it away for the entire decade of my twenties – it feels great to be standing in my own power now.
    Thanks Sand and Romi.

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

