What I’ve Learnt So Far…

What I’ve learnt so far is that when you’re young, not getting it is just how it’s supposed to be.

I’ve learnt that listening is food for the soul, dancing begets joy, and joy is the prelude to enlightenment.

I’ve learnt that finishing off what’s on your plate just makes you fat and doesn’t actually help to feed the starving.

I’ve learnt that dark clouds can be beautiful, and that honey thinly spread sometimes looks like the sun.

I’ve learnt that rubbing your grandmother’s back, withered and crooked, makes you cry and that those are the tears that change your life.

I’ve learnt that my body houses my spirit and that fixating on the house merely suffocates the spirit.

I’ve learnt that when romantic love is more about trust than romance your heart overflows and the runoff can change the world.

I’ve learnt that love expands your chest until your ribcage cradles the earth and your breath feeds the Universe.

12 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Fiction, Inspirational, Love, Spiritual, Writing

12 responses to “What I’ve Learnt So Far…

  1. You my friend are wise far beyond your years.Every point you have listed contains such wisdom and is worthy of an entire post, each on its own merit. You though with your wonderful way with words, have been able to encapsulate all that needs to be said into a single sentence. This is such a wonderful post, I thank you so much for sharing it.
    Bill

    Like

  2. Michelle

    Wow – that is really really beautiful.

    Like

  3. venus00

    Oh pooh, now I’m all teared up and I’m at work. Thank you Simmone that was truly beautiful.

    Are you sure that eating all your brussel sprouts doesn’t feed the starving children in Africa? hmmm…I may need to have a talk with my mother. 😉

    Like

  4. Grace

    “I’ve learnt that my body houses my spirit and that fixating on the house merely suffocates the spirit.

    Oh, amen to that, Goddess. I’ve also learned that our spirits are so big, the “house” merely holds a portion of it.

    BEAUTIFUL writing! It’s so good to have you back!
    xoxox

    Like

  5. poseidonsmuse

    “I’ve learnt that love expands your chest until your ribcage cradles the earth and your breath feeds the Universe.”

    Amen to this Simonne. My heart has had a good dose of this type of love lately. It’s the type of expansion that starts deep from within and emanates brightly from your light-core. Your heart quakes slightly and a small tear forms in your eye as the love wells up inside of you…then you sigh and feel so connected as you let out that deep breath. Phew. Thank you for helping me articulate this today.

    Like

  6. I am so sorry it has been a while since my last comment. I will be returning to do so more properly shortly. I ask you for a huge favor. I have received a most touching and heart breaking comment on my site. From a 14 year old who’s father is dying of brain cancer. I was so touched I published her short comment as a post. I am asking please for prayers but also short comments be left on my site. I will be emailing her and inviting her to return to what I hope will be a page of love and support for her. I do thank you so much

    Like

  7. Thank you Bill, that’s a lovely thing to say. And thank you for your last comment – will include her in meditation and visit your site shortly. We all love your big heart so much.

    Thanks Michelle!

    Hey Venus! Sorry to make you cry! xx

    Hi gorgeous Grace, it’s lovely to be back! 🙂

    Muse – beautifully said – I love it when you come here and we help each other articulate our thoughts – two heads and hearts are always better than one 🙂 Love ya x

    Like

  8. Dawn

    Ah – she’s back and the beautiful words return.

    Like

  9. Simonne – this is my first visit to your site, but definitely not my last. What a deep, moving post. I love it…especially about how love can expand the heart until it’s as big as the universe. This I know to be true.

    Like

  10. Welcome Jeni, by all means visit us again 🙂 Your blog is wonderful – I just hopped over there – what a great life you have! *See* you soon!

    Like

  11. poseidonsmuse

    Simonne! It’s “giftie” time! Drop on by and pick up some Lotus Love darlin’….

    xoxo

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

