Bridezilla

I’ve been a personal trainer on and off (mostly on) for a long time now, and in all that time I’ve trained my fair share of brides. There’s no PT client quite like a bride: She’s simultaneously tired and overstimulated and obsessive and flaky, and will basically do anything you tell her to do, anything. She’s the perfect client in other words.

And now it’s my turn. Being the trainer and the bride to be at the same time is quite the experience! The amount of completely crazy conversations I’ve had in my head recently as I will myself to go just one more kilometre on the bike are reasonably numerous. If nothing else, it’s proved to me that I still have a steel will when it comes to short term goals. The last 6 weeks of training in the gym have been somewhat reminiscent of preparing for the body building comp 4 years ago. I’m certainly not doing anywhere near the same amount of training as I was then, and my food intake is considerably more pleasant than it was back then as well, but the level of willpower feels pretty much the same.

Why am I doing this I wonder, as the sweat drips off my elbows and splatters onto the base of the treadmill like rain. Why does an already fit, size 6 feminist need to live up to the whole beautiful bride expectation?

I don’t know!! I just feel compelled, like it’s fixed into my hard-wiring somehow. My abs are sticking out now, and when that happens I just get more compelled. Maybe it’s an illness? Well quite frankly, with two weeks to my wedding, I don’t care!

Viva la abdลmin!!

14 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Health, Humour, Love, Sex, Wedding, Weight Loss, Women/Feminist

14 responses to “Bridezilla

  1. Paul B.

    With good discipline and a healthy goal you can achieve whatever you want in life.

    A little bit of exercise goes a long way. And a bucketful of smiles too.

    Good luck!

    Like

  2. You’re much too sweet to ever be a Bridezilla. I think you’re onto something with the whole hard-wired theory. Every time there’s some major dress-up event looming in the future, my first thought is “I wonder how much weight I could lose by then…”

    Like

  3. Looking at 3 of your five last post titles, Boobs, Hair, Bootylicious. Am I detecting a pattern? You are beautiful already. Accept it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Oh Simonne, I think it’s just all the extra adrenaline of the upcoming event. Perhaps your wait of burning off the anticipation of the big day. So much significance is put on weddings being the most important day of your life – and women especially, often have carried around a whole scenario on what their wedding day will be l ike from soup to nuts – the expectations are so high, the pressure enormous. Maybe it’s the opposite of nesting? Anyway, don’t worry about it – the big day will come, it will be wonderful, because you are marrying the man you love deeply and truly – The workouts are something to do in the meantime. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    XO
    Annie

    Like

  5. Doktor Holocaust

    Maybe there’s something far more wholesome than social conditioning driving the urge to train. My theory is that it’s more about the exercising being something you’re passionate about and have done for a long time, making it an island of comfort and familiarity in the pre-wedding chaos. You’re doing it because you love it, because you enjoy being fit and achieving new goals.

    I wish I could be half as passionate about training and fitness and exercise.

    Like

  6. poseidonsmuse

    I’m with Sylvain on this one Simonne. You are beautiful already. You are a Goddess no matter what – whether you have abs of steel or a nice sexy mummy belly…However, with that said, a nice jaunt on a treadmill or bike is a great way to burn off some of that wedding tension too…It is a nice way to stay grounded and connected (and fit)!

    Much love to you Simonne!
    xoxo

    Like

  7. Grace

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Simonne…you’re such an amazingly beautiful young woman. And I don’t think there’s ever been a bride on the face of the planet that didn’t want to look her absolute BEST on her wedding day. All the best to you as you continue prepping for the Big Event! (just don’t pull a hammy in the process…limping down the aisle may not give you the exact look you’re working towards ;-)..) xoxox

    Like

  8. Two weeks two weeks!! Good for you Simonne. Even I’m starting to get excited now. Can’t wait to see the photos. I wish you and your man all the best.

    Enjoy yourself and have a beautiful time love. Peace and love!
    ~ RS ~

    Like

  9. I like that you aren’t afraid to be a real woman Simonne, to show us both your strengths and weaknesses. I agree with everyone else. You’re already beautiful inside and out.
    And I know your man knows that. It’s just a bride thing, a woman thing, you need to feel your best.
    And you will. You’ll see.
    kim

    Like

  10. “and will basically do anything you tell her to do, anything”

    Um, for some reason that last “anything” seemed almost sinister. HA! Care to define further?

    Like

  11. californiablogging

    We need some pictures of Bridezilla! Have a blast on your wedding day!

    Like

  12. Ah, I’m sorry I’ve been away from this blog for so long. Good on you for staying in shape, and I hope the wedding goes well. Has it happened yet? I’m behind.

    Best always.

    Like

  13. reggiehudson

    O.K. another one of those statments that, if and when, I become the voice of reason it should scare the living hell out of you. When your husband to be views your touch and embrace as HOME, don’t get so wrapped up in interior nor exterior decorating. Maybe, he finds you a beautiful and warm place that he can always call home and he finds no need for redecorating. Be yourself sis…..and always find warmth and comfort in those whom will allow you to be as such…….they are few. May God grant you a wonderful wedding day…. and trust me your husband will view you as a beautiful bride.

    one old dumbass ,
    reg

    Like

  14. Dawn

    We want photos we want photos we want photos

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

