The Invitation – a fable

Ovienta, the very very very very very old owl, decided that she should have a party to celebrate. She wrote out the invitations. She prepared the food and the punch. She cleaned the tree and swept the leaves from beneath it. She made a pond for the fish and the ducks and the eels and the dolphins. She ordered a delivery of mud for the pigs and the worms and the elephants. She created a divide to put between the foxes and the chickens. She dusted off the toadstools for the leprechauns and the fairies. She even found an old blanket for the humans to sit on like they like to do at their picnics. She erected a shade cloth for Amarndee, the albino tiger, fluffed the cushions for Rebecca the Rhino, who suffered from hemorrhoids, and made a bubble of spiderwebs for Snubbs the snake, who was allergic to feathers and fur.

All this took Ovienta the entire day and by the time she had finished, she was worn out. She looked all around her tree and felt quite proud of all her hard work. She leaned back, slowly turned her wise old head right the way around to make sure she hadn’t missed anything, and then sat up with a start. “Goodness me!” She said aloud, to the setting sun. “I haven’t decided what I’m celebrating yet!”

Ovienta sat on her favourite branch (the one with the claw marks and the cosy little indent where her feathered bottom has rested for all these years) and thought about this. She sat quietly and turned her head slowly around and around like she always did when she was thinking. When it came to her she stilled her silky, sagacious head and drifted into a peaceful slumber.

The next evening when all the animals where gathered on, under, around, and even above (Dolores the dodo bird was a bit drunk and didn’t want to come down) the tree, Ovienta asked for quiet. Everyone had to hush down, which took a quite some time, considering that the chickens always found it hard to stop talking and the fish were finding it hard to hear anything at all and someone had run off with Rebecca’s cushions and a Rhino in distress is a surprisingly loud affair. But Ovienta had extraordinary amounts of patience and eventually there was a deep, permeating silence around the tree. And so she spoke:

My dear friends, I welcome you all to my party and I thank you all for coming. I know that many of you have been wondering what the occasion is and thinking that it must be an important one for me to gather so many of you together. So now it’s time to celebrate that occasion.

If you focused hard enough at that moment and opened your heart wide enough then you would have seen the quiver of excitement that ran through every feather and rippled through every hair, coat of fur and pair of wings.

My friend, I have invited you here to celebrate the invitation itself.

The quiet was broken by a baffled murmur that started low in the collective belly and swam upwards towards the collective intrigue like a swarm gathering numbers.

I invite you here to remind you of all the things that we come to forget in the wisdom of our maturity. I invite you to use your eyes to see with compassion. I invite you to use your ears to listen without judgement. I invite you to look at your fears before you leave this life. I invite you to speak through your heart instead of your ego, always and always and always. I invite you on a journey inside the thing that houses the truths about who we really are, how we came to be and why we chose to be here at this instant; our body. Please, do come in.

In our feet, hooves, claws, fins, flippers and paws lies the power to step forward in life with a clear, joyous and forgiving understanding of our lives and ourselves.

Our legs carry us forward in this life. I invite you now to step forward with boldness into tomorrow, have faith that your legs will carry you sure and true to where you are meant to be.

Our hips carry our bodies in perfect balance. I invite you now to see how they help us to make decisions and move forward in creating our desired outcomes free of fear or judgement.

Our stomach digests all of our new experiences and ideas. This is the hub in which we must find the courage to face change and new ideas with ease and joy.

Our spine represents our support system and I invite you now to unload your guilt, your shame, your fear of scarcity, your feelings of unlove and unworthiness and let them fly up through the tree. She will take them from you and leave you standing straight and strong.

Our heart is our love centre and I invite you inside now to bathe in the unconditional love that resides there. Inside it is nothing at all but pure love and we each have an infinite abundance to give out and receive in, whenever, wherever and for whomever we choose.

I invite you now to go deep inside your own throat to feel the power of creativity and expression that resides there. Open your throat and your heart now and sing the joys of love and creativity and truthful expression.

With that heart-felt invocation, a chorus of voices rang out sweet and true through the forest. “Louder!” implored Ovienta, “Louder!” Soon the singing of the birds and the humans, the roaring of the animals, and the chanting of the fairies and the leprechauns synchronised into a beautiful harmony so that every heart was filled with love and every throat was speaking its own truth.

I invite you now, said Ovienta when the chorus had quieted, to lift your arms, wings and flippers to lovingly embrace yourselves and each other, for our arms and hands house our ability to hold onto the experiences of life and to nurture and caress with the love in our hearts.

Now my friends, I invite you into your own head, that sacred place in which we present ourselves to the rest of the world. I invite you to relax into your head and let go of the control of the ego and let life flow through it as if it were just a filter on the way to the heart.

My friends, I urge you to take this journey often and send love and strength, honour and forgiveness to every part of yourself.

Once we learn to do this my friends, then we can learn to do it together, collectively, all of us, so that our home, the earth mother, can feel our love and see our commitment to ourselves, to each other, and to her.

Then my dear friends, then we will really have something to celebrate.

 ©Simonne Michelle 2007

17 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Inspirational, Love, Spiritual, Writing

17 responses to “The Invitation – a fable

  1. That was an excellent piece. 🙂 Beautifully written, and it obviously has a powerful message behind it.

    I don’t know if I’m alone on this, but I actually like fairy tales, both for their being eminently enjoyable and their literary value. Fables often have layers of metaphor, symbolism, and meaning and it’s usually wrapped up in stories that more funny and clever than most self-serious contemporary “adult” prose. Fables are often brilliant allegory… I think Orwell understood this when he wrote ANIMAL FARM, which is simultaneously a really witty political satire and fully serious literary masterpiece.

    Anyway, that’s just my take on fables in general. “The Invitation” is a great example of what makes fairy tales work in my mind… I really enjoyed it. I love the silly sense of humor belying a headier message. I think you should write more stories about Ovienta, by the way.

    If you don’t mind the compliment, I think you’ll make a great mom. Bedtime stories like this are important for kids, and they’re really fun as well.

    I’d probably be a drooling illiterate to this day if not for my grandfather, who would get off work and read to me until his eyes were sore (at which point, he’d just keep right on reading anyway) and my mother, who bought me abridged, kid-friendly versions of classic literature from the grocery store, even when she didn’t have enough money to buy herself new clothes. Those are important moments for a kid… your future son or daughter will be lucky beyond words to have an author in the family.

    By the way, this seems like a good a time as any to recommend THE PHANTOM TOLLBOOTH. You’ve probably read it, but if you haven’t, you should. I read it in the second grade and have yet to pick up a book as clever, funny, and surprisingly relevant and I’m a pretty avid reader. It’s really brilliant… one of the best things you could give a kid (or anyone else).

    Like

  2. Red

    *shakes head* How do you do it .. That was beyond words.

    Like

  3. Doktor Holocaust

    Fables, I never cared for as a kid, wrinkling my nose at their heavy-handed lessons. Faerie tales, now… well, i never got to those as a kid, I was watching horror movies, but when I finally got around to reading faerie tales in college, I adored them, because deep down they were about Fear, about the fact that humans and their civilization are not the be-all and end-all of the world, that there is a vast panoply of Other Stuff out there that may bump into us on occasion but is largely indifferent to us, and the mix of being afraid of the Other Stuff and desperately wanting to go over there to OtherStuffville because the human world seems like such a rotten place at times.

    “come away, oh human child…” W.B. Yeats

    Those were good years, years of closet-monsters and things form Brian Froud paintings stealing my car keys, years of paranoia and panic attacks whenever I attempted to deal with “normal” stuff like shopping malls or department stores, and I wouldn’t go back to those years for anything, but I needed a few years like that, to get away from it all.

    Like

  4. Paul Baylay

    What a beautiful piece. I am always able to lose myself in your writing and I think and hope that is the key to a great writer..

    Keep smiling… 🙂

    Like

  5. Deb

    My favorite part, hands down, was that they were celebrating the invitation itself. The rest was awesome, but celebrating the invitation is what I think we need to learn better as children, so that we can appreciate life as an adult. Or maybe that is just me!

    Like

  6. I loved it. Thank you for sharing that.

    Like

  7. I really, really liked the part where she was making places for all her friends – especially the rhino who had hemorrhoids! Aw, poor Rebecca. She’s lucky to have a friend like Ovienta.

    And we’re lucky to have a friend like you! Now, will you please make me an extra fluffy pillow to sit on?

    Like

  8. Very nice fable. I write stories like these myself, so I really enjoyed this. Blessings!!

    Like

  9. Dawn

    Peace I really liked reading your comments – sounds like you have a great family.
    Simonne: perhaps it is time to bring some of those fables out of the closet and put them all together and see where you go from there. Not sure what order you should do all these things in but good luck!

    Like

  10. pradapixie

    That was so lovely. The warmth and love seeped through it. You are an extrodainary writer Simmone.
    I love how you use words in whatever you write.
    px

    Like

  11. poseidonsmuse

    Oh Simonne. I could see the illustration for that lovely story line in my head unfolding as I read what you wrote. Wow! Your writing is so mature, yet peppered with child-like innocence. I adore your writing. Thank you for being you. Your gift is a talent to be loved and shared. ((((((BIG HUG)))))

    Like

  12. Thanks Peace, a lovely comment. I love Animal Farm. I haven’t read The Phantom Tollbooth actually, sounds like I need to! What a beautiful compliment re my being a good mum, thank you!! You’ve written about your Grandfather before, he sure sounds like he was wonderful 🙂
    Thanks Red.
    DrH, what can I say? You’re full of twists and turns aren’t you? Actually, I’ve really enjoyed interacting with you and Peace, the Y gen of intelligent, funky and oh so politically aware young men!
    Paul, humbling comment, thank you!
    Deb, Catherine & Greenwoman, thanks, so glad you liked it 🙂
    OB, yes poor Rebecca, she’s ok now!
    Dawn- yes, perhaps I should! Thanks for the encouragement.
    Pradapixie, thanks honey Sx
    Muse, I love your writing too, so we’ll have to start a fanclub! xx

    Like

  13. Wonderful! Do you write children’s books? Children-adult crossover books? If not, what are you waiting for? You are gifted. I was imagining illustrations by Helen Ward.

    Like

  14. That was wonderful! Thank you.

    Like

  15. Doktor Holocaust

    who’re you callin’ a gen-Y-er? my little sister is gen-y. and I stopped being politically aware… umm… six years ago, when politics in America was a leading cause of clinical depression. I’m a Patriopsychotic Anarchomaterialist these days, all for HOUSEHOLD sovereignty, every man and woman a monarch, every child and dog a serf.

    Like

  16. Thanks Kiki! No, I’ve written one children’s book called Harry Hairpants that isn’t very good! But I enjoy the children/adult cross-over, like the fables. Maybe I’ll try some more.
    Thanks Sylvain 🙂
    Sorry DrH!!! Must be cos you’re so hip!

    Like

  17. Doktor Holocaust

    or all the preservatives and radiation I use to preserve my youthful glow. of course, bioluminescence wasn’t my original goal, but it comes in handy.

    Like

Leave a reply, start a conversation - go on, you know you want to!

